

Capital Plan Development Task Force Update #13/14

RELEASE: April 6, 2018

MUSKOKA ALGONQUIN

The Capital Plan Development Task Force met on March 19 and 26 where the task force arrived at two important milestones. The task force approved the evaluation criteria to be used to evaluate the models, and finalized the different programs and services proposed in each of the models as described below.

Two Acute Sites: the Two Acute Sites model proposes to maintain acute care beds and Emergency Depts., general surgery, obstetrics and intensive care at two sites. These would be supported by other core diagnostic services and allied health and support services at both sites. Specialty surgeries and programs like Chemotherapy and Complex Continuing Care that are currently single sited are proposed to continue to be in one site only. The future model also proposes to add a Stroke Rehabilitation Unit and MRI capabilities at one site.

Inpatient Site/Outpatient Site: the Inpatient/Outpatient model proposes to include Emergency Depts. at two sites and to separate outpatient and inpatient services between the sites. The Outpatient site would include services that do not require an overnight stay in hospital like endoscopies, x-rays and other diagnostic imaging, and services like chemotherapy and dialysis. The Inpatient site would include all hospital beds, surgical services, obstetrics, and intensive care, and would be supported by other core diagnostic services and allied health and support services in both sites. The Inpatient site also proposes the addition of a Stroke Rehabilitation Unit and MRI capabilities.

Detailed descriptions of the three different models are posted on the MAHC website.

The task force also received a land-use planning study and is awaiting the completion of an economic impact analysis. The next task force meeting is April 9, 2018.

Membership

Cameron Renwick (Chair) Don Mitchell (Vice Chair) Scott Aitchison Dr. Sheena Branigan Natalie Bubela **Charlane Cluett** Dr. Caroline Correia Dr. Keith Cross John Curran Jan Davidson Peter Deane Donna Denny Michael Duben Harold Featherston Dr. Graeme Gair Dr. Biagio lannantuono Dr. Jennifer Macmillan Dr. David Mathies **Philip Matthews** Cathy McMurray Graydon Smith Tim Smith Eric Spinks Cathy Still **Beth Ward**